How to add/ delete bookmarks or checkpoints (user defined)

General TRichView support forum. Please post your questions here
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17557
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

I still suggest to check: may be, using the commands of menu "File", you save and load readme.rvf from another directory, not from the directory of the "Editor 1" demo. I recently made this mistake myself when testing this demo.

As for "Editor 2" demo, I can explain why it cannot load readme.rvf of "Editor 1" demo. This file (readme.rvf) is special. It was saved without the collection of text and paragraph styles. So it can be loaded correctly only in RichView having the same styles as the RichView what saved it. I.e. you can load it in "Editor 1" demo, not in "Editor 2".
However, if you save this file in "Editor 1" demo, it will be saved with all necessary styles. After that you will be able to open it in the "Editor 2" demo.
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

Yes, there is still a preoblem with Editor 1

Post by Nostradamus »

I have checked the folder for save and load and you were right it was different.

But that being so and I have saved and loaded from the same folder now where Editor1 (Unicode demo) is, the same problem of truncating files and opening file errors persists.

kind regards
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

The load error message happens for both normal and unicode..

Post by Nostradamus »

There are two Editor 1 projects

one is normal non-unicode demos tree

the other is in the delphi unicode demos tree

BOTH these projects display the same error on loading the readme.rvf file in their corresponding directory.
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

Something I noticed...

Post by Nostradamus »

If I attempt to save and load 'plain' text in an rvf file with non-unicode Editor 1 project exe everything works OK. For both saving and loading.

It seems to be a problem with the "a2" hypertext in the original readme.rvf

but I could be wrong.
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17557
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

Answered in email.
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

Something else I noticed...

Post by Nostradamus »

Both Editor 1 projects (unicode and non-unicode) do not run on my XP Pro computer.

However both the Unicode and Non-Unicode Editor 1 projects do run OK on VISTA.
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17557
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

I tested your saved files, and I can see that some text was saved incorrectly. However, I cannot reproduce it on my computer (WinXP).
Details are sent by email.
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17557
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

The problem was in converting characters of Symbol font (SYMBOL_CHARSET) to Unicode when the system code page is Chinese.
It is fixed, fix will be available in the next update.
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

One more question .. how to delete saved bookmarks ?

Post by Nostradamus »

When I go into menu 'Misc' >>> 'Goto Checkpoint' a 'List' window opens
displaying current checkpoints.

How do I add a button to delete checkpoints I no longer want ?
What code do I need to add to the 'delete' button ?

kind regards
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17557
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

Code: Select all

  RichViewEdit1.RemoveCheckpointEd(
    RichViewEdit1.GetCheckpointItemNo(
      RichViewEdit1.GetCheckpointByNo(Lst.ItemIndex)));
However, this list of checkpoints is incomplete. It includes only checkpoints in the main document, not in table cells.
If you want to know how to make a complete list, let me know.
Nostradamus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 1:56 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Nostradamus »

not in table cells.
If you want to know how to make a complete list, let me know.
I think I need to know everything there is to know about this.

thanks....
Post Reply